Hollywood Costume and Environnement Wildlife Photographer of the Year 2012

We went to London to see Hollywood Costume at the V&A.http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/exhibitions/exhibition-hollywood-costume/inside-the-exhibition/

I don’t remember expecting to be particularly thrilled by going to see this exhibition but when I got there I did find it quite thrilling! I saw the outfit that Darth Vader wore in Star Wars! I wasn’t expecting to see something like that! It looked huge and imposing. I couldn’t see through the mask which was quite creepy.

I saw the outfit worn by Sharon Stone when she played Catherine Tramell in Basic Instinct (1992). I had just watched this film again relatively recently and I wasn’t expecting to see it right there in front of me. What you can’t see when you watch the film is the texture of the material. It looks quite thick like it would be quite warm to wear. In the exhibition the outfit was posed in a similar way to the picture below.

http://static1.purepeople.com/articles/7/41/51/7/@/295214-la-fameuse-scene-de-l-interrogatoire-637×0-2.jpg

Instead of using a generic mannequin’s head as one might expect, each outfit had a video image of the actors’ head from each respective film. I think this was very clever and it really made the exhibition come alive. Being able to see the characters’ face and their costume made it much easier to identify them and it brought back memories of the characters’ personalities.

I also really wasn’t expecting to see the outfit worn by Sean Young when she played Rachael in Blade Runner (1982). I spent a lot of the exhibition pointing, staring, smiling and exclaiming ‘that’s an awesome film! I can’t believe this is here!’

http://talesfrombettybeetowers.blogspot.co.uk/2011/09/rachel-from-bladerunner-my-first-style.html

I picked up this leaflet at the exhibition to take home as a souvenir.

I also picked up this little booklet about Harry Winston, ‘Jeweller to the Stars’. 

We also went to see the Environnement Wildlife Photographer of the Year. This is my favourite photo from the exhibition. I am not particularly interested in wildlife photography but I love the bright pink glowing colour of the thunder in the background and the contrast it makes against the dark land.

w02_ightninghttp://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/2012/10/wildlife-photographer-of-the-year-2012/100392/

One thought on “Hollywood Costume and Environnement Wildlife Photographer of the Year 2012

Leave a comment